Applied Materials to Advance Conversion of Energy and Fuels

Special Issue banner

The Science Partner Journal Energy Material Advances is now considering submissions for a special issue on Applied Materials to Advance Conversion of Energy and Fuels in collaboration with the American Chemical Society (ACS) Energy and Fuels Division (ENFL).


The topics of this special issue focus on but are not limited to the following:

  1. Efficient and sustainable conversion and storage of energy;
  2. Production of conventional, alternative, and renewable sources of energy;
  3. Recovery and reuse of energy.  

This special issue will be led by the ENFL Division Chair Alan Chaffee with support from a junior scientist (Dr. Jun Lu). Professor Jingbo Louise Liu will be serving as the managing guest editor. The goal of this special issue is to assist the ACS Energy and Fuels Division (ENFL) members in disseminating their scientific research discoveries and to also support the journal Energy Material Advances. In the future, we hope that the ENFL and Energy Material Advances can establish a sustainable relationship to provide a platform for authors to publish their quality research data promptly.

    Guest Editors

    Portrait of Dr. Alan ChaffeeDr. Alan Chaffee works in the School of Chemistry at Monash University as a Professor. Before becoming an academic, he worked for a number of years in Australia’s national research laboratory (CSIRO) and in private industry (BHP).

    His group undertakes applied chemistry research on topics that are related to biomass and fossil fuel utilization. For example, new approaches to the preparation of industrial chemicals, specialty liquid fuels, road bitumen, coke for steel making, carbon fibers and specialist (monolithic) high surface area active carbons are being developed that utilize low cost precursors and minimize energy losses (and, hence, CO2 emissions).

    The group also investigates the capture of CO2 emissions by adsorption and, once captured, its transformation back into useful products by heterogeneous catalysis. In doing so, innovative new materials such as mesoporous silica, metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) and ionic liquids (ILs) are employed as adsorbents, catalysts and/or solvents. These novel materials are often sourced from other research groups within the School. Molecular modeling tools are also frequently applied, so that experiment and theory inform each other.

    In addition to journal contributions, he holds a number of patents and, with his team, is endeavouring to commercialise some of these opportunities.

    Portrait of Dr. Jun LuDr. Jun Lu is a Chemist at Argonne National Laboratory. His research interests focus on the electrochemical energy storage and conversion technology, with focus on beyond Li-ion battery technology. 
    Dr. Lu earned his bachelor’s degree in chemistry physics from University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) in 2000.

    He completed his Ph.D. from the Department of Metallurgical Engineering at University of Utah in 2009 with a major research on metal hydrides for reversible hydrogen storage application.

    He is the awardee of the first DOE-EERE postdoctoral fellow under Vehicles Technology Program from 2011-2013. He serves as the associate editor of ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces. He was elected as associate president and board committee member of the International Academy of Electrochemical Energy Science (IAOEES). He is also the first awardee of IAOEES Award for Research Excellence in Electrochemistry Energy in 2016. Dr. Lu has authored/co-authored more than 300 peer-reviewed research articles, including Nature; Nature Energy, Nature Nanotechnology; Chem. Rev.; Nature Commun.; JACS; and has filed over 20 patents and patent applications.

    Portrait of J. Louise LiuJ. Louise Liu received her Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Science and Technology Beijing, in 2001 and completed her postdoctoral training in Chemistry from the University of Calgary, in 2004.  She was promoted with tenure to the rank of Full Professor at Texas A&M University (TAMU)-Kingsville in 2016 and affiliated with TAMU Energy Institute in 2019. She has an expertise in Design and evaluation of nanomaterials; Energy storage and conversion; Water remediation (using nanostrcutured materials); Biological application of nanomaterials and Electrochemistry. Louise published over 100 peer-reviewed scholarly products and served as guest editor, reviewer, proposal reviewer, and research mentor in her professional service to the community. Her involvement with the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory via the Directed Energy Bioeffects Institute (DEBI) mechanism was recognized in a special citation of merit in 2021. She has developed bilingual open educational materials and new courses, hosted 15 visiting scholars, taught > 10,500 students, trained > 150 undergraduates, and 40 graduate students.

    Louise was elected as the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Energy & Fuels Chair; Alternate Councilor (ACS, South Texas), secretary and historian of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Honors Society (TAMU, College Station), 2nd Vice-President of the Chinese ACS.  She also served as a forensic and drone operations consultant to the Criminal Investigation Division (Kleberg County, TX).
    She received the following professional fellowships/awards:

    1. Chartered Scientist and Chartered Chemist designations by the Science Council. 
    2. Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Fellow of the International Association of Advanced Materials, Fellow of Vebleo (Science Engineering and Technology), Invitational Faculty Fellow of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science invitation Fellow, and Israel Summer Faculty Fellow.
    3. IUPAC 2021 Distinguished Women in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering Awards 
    4. Recipient of Local Section Outreach Volunteers of the Year – 2013, Committee of Community Activities (CCA), American Chemical Society.
    5. Distinguished Researcher of the Javelina Alumni Association, 2019; 
    6. Dean Research Excellence Award, TAMUK, Sept. 2018; 
    7. Olan Kruse, Research and Education Excellence Award, 2017 & 2009; 
    8. 2020 Graduate Teaching Award and 2009 General Education Award, the Center for Teaching Effectiveness, TAMUK. 

      Submission Deadline

      September 30, 2021

        Submission Instructions

        Please select "Special Issue: Applied Materials to Advance Conversion of Energy and Fuels" as the section/category during the submission process. Please also indicate in your cover letter that your submission is intended for inclusion in the special issue.