Editorial Board

BioDesign Research’s editorial board is comprised of active researchers and experts selected from a pool of scholars who have made significant and well recognized contributions to the field. The overall duties of our editors include, but are not limited to, overseeing the review process and soliciting submissions of high-quality manuscripts.


Xiaohan Yang, PhD, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Stanley Qi, PhD, Stanford University

Alfonso Jaramillo, PhD, University of Warwick

    Associate Editors

    Anke Becker, PhD, LOEWE Center for Synthetic Microbiology

    Lacra Bintu, PhD, Stanford University

    Victor de Lorenzo, PhD, Spanish National Centre for Biotechnology-CSIC

    Douglas Densmore, PhD, Boston University

    Carrie Eckert, PhD, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

    Tobias Erb, PhD, Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology

    Luke Gilbert, PhD, University of California, San Francisco

    Jeff Hasty, PhD, University of California, San Diego

    Ryozo Imai, PhD, National Agriculture and Food Research Organization

    Mark Isalan, PhD, Imperial College London

    Poul Erik Jensen, PhD, University of Copenhagen

    Mustafa Khammash, PhD, ETH Zürich

    Jianfeng Li, PhD, Sun Yat-sen University

    Alistair McCormick, PhD, University of Edinburgh

    June Medford, PhD, Colorado State University

    Jose Penades, PhD, University of Glasgow

    Xiling Shen, PhD, Duke University

    Velia Siciliano, PhD, Italian Institute of Technology

    Pam Silver, PhD, Harvard University

    Beatrix Suess, PhD, Technical University of Darmstadt

    Ilias Tagkopoulos, PhD, University of California, Davis

    Cong Trinh, PhD, University of Tennessee

    Neil Wipat, PhD, Newcastle University

    Shoshana Wodak, PhD, VIB-VUB Center for Structural Biology

    Zhen Xie, PhD, Tsinghua University

    Bing Yang, PhD, University of Missouri

      Executive Editor

      Zong-Ming Cheng, PhD, Nanjing Agricultural University/University of Tennessee

        Managing Editor

        Huan Yin, Nanjing Agricultural University