Get Our e-AlertsSubmit Manuscript

Editorial Board

The BMEF (BME Frontiers) editorial board is composed of active researchers and experts selected from international scholars who have made significant and well-recognized contributions to the field of biomedical engineering. The overall duties of our editors include, but are not limited to, overseeing the review process making decisions on manuscripts, and inviting submissions of high-quality manuscripts. Editors are listed within each section in alphabetical order by last name.

Honorary Editor-in-Chief

Jianlin Cao, PhD


    Xingde Li, PhD, Johns Hopkins University

    Yuguo Tang, PhD, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

    Guoqi Zhang, PhD, Delft University of Technology

      Advisory Board

      Jennifer H. Elisseeff, Johns Hopkins University

      Dario Farina, Imperial College London

      James G. Fujimoto, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

      Min Gu, University of Shanghai for Science and Technology

      Ying Gu, Chinese PLA General Hospital and Beijing Institute of Technology

      X. Edward Guo, Columbia University

      Li Jin, Fudan University

      Qingming Luo, Hainan University

      Michael I. Miller, Johns Hopkins University

      Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, Mayo Clinic

      John A. Rogers, Northwestern University

      Weihong Tan, Institute of Basic Medicine and Cancer (IBMC), CAS

      Lihong Wang, California Institute of Technology

      Denis Wirtz, Johns Hopkins University

      Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology

      Arjun G. Yodh, University of Pennsylvania

        Deputy Editors

        Rama Chellappa, Johns Hopkins University

        Ji-Xin Cheng, Boston University

        Kathleen Cullen, Johns Hopkins University

        Zhongwei Fan, Aerospace Information Research Institute, CAS

        Xiaohu Gao, University of Washington

        Zhongze Gu, Southeast University

        Michael R. Hamblin, Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School

        Shucheng Hua, The First Hospital of Jilin University

        K. Kirk Shung, University of Southern California

        Jie Tian, Institute of Automation, CAS

        Peter C. M. van Zijl, Johns Hopkins University

        Kenneth K. Wang, Mayo Clinic

        Raimond L. Winslow, Johns Hopkins University

        Chris Xu, Cornell University

        Jun Yang, The University of Western Ontario

        Yanli Zhao, Nanyang Technological University

          Associate Editors

          Yu Chen, Shanghai University

          Ling Fu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

          Feng Gao, Tianjin University

          Warren L. Grayson, Johns Hopkins University

          Tony Jun Huang, Duke University

          Thomas Huser, Bielefeld University

          Joo Ha Hwang, Stanford University

          Simon Jacob, Technical University of Munich

          Juan Li, Institute of Basic Medicine and Cancer (IBMC), CAS

          Gang Liu, Xiamen University

          Jonathan T.C. Liu, University of Washington

          Xiaolong Liu, Mengchao Hepatobiliary Hospital of Fujian Medical University

          Jianwen Luo, Tsinghua University

          Daniel H. O’Connor, Johns Hopkins University

          Daniël A. Pijnappels, Leiden University Medical Center

          Lunxiu Qin, Fudan University, Huashan Hospital

          Kouhei Tsumoto, University of Tokyo

          Juan Tu, Nanjing University

          Sihong Wang, University of Chicago

          Haihua Xiao, Institute of Chemistry, CAS

          Zhen Xu, University of Michigan

          Yu Xue, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

          Wei Zhang, Chongqing Institute of Green and Intelligent Technology, CAS

          Yuanjin Zhao, Southeast University

          Qifa Zhou, University of Southern California

          S. Kevin Zhou, University of Science and Technology of China

            Youth Editors

            Haojun Chen, The First Affiliated Hospital of Xiamen University

            Jianxun Ding, Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, CAS

            Xian Huang, Tianjin University

            Ling Li, Sichuan University

            Hong Liu, Southeast University

            Peng Mi, Sichuan University

            Peng Miao, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

            Dalong Ni, Shanghai Jiao Tong University

            Xin Pang, Henan University of Chinese Medicine

            Lang Rao, Shenzhen Bay Laboratory

            Fu-Gen Wu, Southeast University

            Zhen Yang, Strait Laboratory of Flexible Electronics (SLoFE), Fuzhou

            Xiaodong Zhang, Tianjin University

            Hu Zhao, Chinese Institute for Brain Research

            Lianqun Zhou, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

            Benpeng Zhu, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

              Chief Managing Editor

              Minxuan Sun, PhD, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

                Managing Editor

                Pingping Liu, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

                  Adjunct Managing Editors

                  Min Deng, Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, CAS

                  Jinghai Yang, PhD, Jilin Normal University